I fell in love with a place, and a whisky.

I came to Islay with a bunch of dedicated whisky lovers, folks who shared my love for the brown stuff and the love and care that went into making it. Little did I know that I would find a distillery which made it in wonderful and wacky ways – blending the modern hipster approach with a reverence for old school ingredients. Bruinladdich. In the end, I bought a bottle that exemplified my love for the stuff, and the way it was made; the ominously named Black Art.

Apart from the whisky, the island itself has a sleepy charm so different to the rushrushrush mentality of Singapore. Driving along perfectly straight roads in the sunshine, with only blue ahead of you and green at the sides… It’s something I’m going to be longing for in the years to come.

islay3-1

islay3-2

islay3-22

islay3-18

islay4-3

islay4-4

islay4-6

islay3-5

islay3-6

islay3-7

islay3-11

barrels o' fun!

islay3-13

islay3-15

islay3-14

islay3-10

islay3-4

out on the loch.

islay4-13

islay4-21

islay4-22

islay4-26

islay4-25

islay4-28

islay4-29

Leave a Reply

